Press release: Lake Dillon Fire honors citizens, employees at annual awards ceremony




Contact: Steve Lipsher, Public Information Officer

Office: (970) 262-5209


Lake Dillon Fire honors citizens, employees at annual awards ceremony

Lake Dillon Fire honored five citizens – including Flight for Life nurse Dave Repsher – and numerous firefighters and staff members at its annual awards ceremony in Dillon on Saturday.

Repsher, who survived the July 3, 2015, crash of the Flight for Life helicopter and then spent the next year battling for his life as he recovered from severe burns, was honored by Lake Dillon firefighter/paramedic Paul Camillo for his indomitable will as well as for inspiring fellow first responders.

Additionally, community figures honored by Lake Dillon Fire were:

  • Sarah Thorsteinson, the executive director of the Summit Association of Realtors for that organization’s annual efforts to promote wildfire preparedness among local property owners;
  • John Hillman and Maggie Hillman for their tireless efforts to encourage residents of the Lower Blue River Valley to join the Lake Dillon Fire Protection District and to support public safety;
  • Kelly Foote, owner of Foote’s Rest sweet shop, for his repeated and selfless contributions to Lake Dillon Fire;
  • And Tim Johnston, owner of Mountain Access Garage Door, for continually making Lake Dillon Fire a priority, even after hours.

The annual awards ceremony, held at the Dillon Community Church Fellowship Hall, also recognized many employees of the department for their achievements, including:

  • New hires firefighter/paramedic Jim Levi, IT technician Colby Poole and firefighter/paramedic Mike Williams
  • Promotions of Donna Trainer from office assistant to administrative technician and Frank Towers from firefighter/technician to engineer
  • Five years of service: Fire Corps volunteer Kelly Sheehan
  • Ten years of service: Lt. Casey Humann, Engineer Dennis Jackson and Human Resources Manager Matt Scheer
  • Fifteen years of service: Capt. Kim McDonald and Assistant Chief Joe Hegenderfer
  • Twenty years of service: Battalion Chief Travis Davis and Engineer Bob Corcoran
  • Thirty-five years of service: Assistant Chief Steve Skulski
  • Fourty years of service: Fire Corps volunteer (and former volunteer firefighter) Kim Bailey
  • Fifty-five years of service: Fire Corps volunteer (and former volunteer firefighter) Doc Peterson
  • College degrees: Capt. John Wilkerson, Firefighter Shannan Stensvad and Capt. Brian Schenking

Finally, Lake Dillon Fire Chief Jeff Berino honored Finance Manager Mary Hartley and Fire Corps volunteer Maggie Cox with the Chief’s Award; Capt. Brian Schenking received the Leadership Award; Human Resources Manager Matt Scheer received the Member of the Year Award; and Engineer Ted Salthouse received the Firefighter of the Year Award.

“We look forward every year to honoring our own employees for their exemplary work and are pleased to share this occasion with so many deserving members of our community who contribute to public safety and help make this such a wonderful place to be,” Berino said. “It is truly an honor for us to serve the residents and visitors of the Lake Dillon Fire Protection District.”


Comments are closed.

All Content Copyright © 2017 Lake Dillon Fire-Rescue, All Rights Reserved.